Hamilton County IA Subdivisions


Profiles for 17 County Subdivisions in Hamilton County Iowa

There are 1,661 county subdivisions in Iowa known as minor civil divisions (MCDs). There are 1,598 townships. There are 59 cities that are independent of any MCD and one city (Tabor) that is partially independent of any MCD creating 62 county subdivisions. There is also one unorganized territory (reservoir property in Polk County).

Iowa township officials have minimal powers and are under the fiscal authority of the county.  These townships, by agreement with the state, are classified as nonfunctioning MCDs by the Census Bureau.  The governing body for each township is the board of township trustees.

Subdivisions in Hamilton County

Subdivisions that are also Incorporated Places have an asterisk(*) and the link takes you to the Community Profile for the Incorporated Place.

Puerto Rico’s Forgotten Island Vieques Needs Help

Puerto Rico’s Forgotten Island Vieques Needs Help

In the very early morning hours of September 20, 2017, the eyewall of Hurricane Maria passed over the tiny island of Vieques, Puerto Rico as a Category 5 hurricane, before moving westwards to mainland Puerto Rico. Maria ravaged the 60-square mile island with sustained winds of over 150 MPH and storm surges of over 12 feet, destroying homes, local businesses and causing widespread devastation.

Learn how you can help now!